Ghetto Kumbé

Image de l'artiste ou du groupe

Official website

Facebook

Pressbook

Shows

 

Neo Afro-Futuristic Colombian live music

official selection womex 2021

Raised on Colombia’s Caribbean coast and united by it’s capital, Bogota, Ghetto Kumbé combines the rich musical heritage of their home, to invoke the spirit of digital rumba in audiences all over the world. The secret behind their irresistible electronic ritual lies in their powerful percussion base; Caribbean house beats and traditional afro- Colombian rhythms inherited from West Africa. The album’s co-producer, The Busy Twist, adds all the legacy of UK’s Bass scene to the Afrofuturistic sounds of the 3 Colombians.

Inspired by the different revolutionary movements emerging all over the world, Ghetto Kumbé will release their first full-length album in May 2020 on pioneering Latin American electronic label ZZK Records. Their self-titled debut is visceral, committed, and rebellious, denouncing through frantic rhythms the inequalities and abuses imposed by corrupt governments, while simultaneously enticing listeners to join in the fight. Dance mingles with awareness to create a global community, where family, friends, and strangers come together through our shared love of music and activate change amongst themselves.

Using musical motifs from Africa and Colombia’s Caribbean coast such as the Gaita, call-and-response vocals, and an array of hand drums and rhythms, coupled with the elegant electronic production of Tech/House, Ghetto Kumbé creates an Afro-futurist soundscape with lyrics to motivate, elevate, and inspire. Their first single to come out, ‘Vamo a Dale Duro’, is a fluorescent criticism of the unjust divide between the poor and the rich, the rising prominence of dirty politicians, and the ethics of the capitalist system while encouraging people to stand up and fight for a dignified existence. The album’s tone fluctuates fluidly between tracks that include ancestral chants, voices both deep and resounding, and anthems to uplift and inspire, as well as features by up-and-coming Réunion island artist Melanie and the Palenque-based folk/hip-hop band Kombilesa Mi.

In the Americas, Ghetto Kumbé has become one of the most important alternative groups to come out of Colombia. They’ve played Barranquilla’s world famous Carnival, Bogotá’s recent Boiler Room, and have even opened for Radiohead. The ancient yet modern sound of the three powerful musicians has made them a legitimate representative of the new Afrohouse scene burgeoning all over the world.

----

« Exploring the dynamics of love, the tribal-tinged single is a glimpse into the Afrofuturist trio’s ethereal debut.» FLOOD MAGAZINE

« Ghetto Kumbé's music is to go on a lively, joyful journey through time and space, where borders no longer exist and drums and dancing are aplenty..» GRAMMY

« Ghetto Kumbé’s self-titled debut album is hypnotic, frantic and quite possibly unlike anything you’ve heard before.» SOUND OF COLOURS

« ... Afro rhythms, with that electronic touch that makes Sola a sci-fi trip. .» ROLLING STONE ----

latest album “Ghetto Kumbé” co-produced with The Busy Twist released on ZZK Records.(Labo D / ZZK Records)

AVAILABLE SUMMER 2022 - FALL 2022 - SPRING 2023

3 musicians on stage (5 on the road)

Ghetto Kumbé

Image de l'artiste ou du groupe

Site officiel

Facebook

Dossier de presse

Concerts

 

Le phénomène live afro-futuriste colombien

Venu tout droit de Bogotá, le trio des Ghetto Kumbé réunit trois musiciens virtuoses originaires de la côte caraïbes colombienne. Un combo de sorciers chanteurs et percussionnistes convoquent les publics du monde entier et les esprits païens de la rumba digitale et consciente. Leur musique apparait comme un élixir puissant à base de percussions, de beats électro caribéens, de rythmes traditionnels ouest africains et afro-colombiens, le tout gorgé de techno/house. Le co-producteur de l’album, l’anglais The Busy Twist, ajoute sa touche UK Bass aux sons afro-futuristiques des 3 colombiens.

Ghetto Kumbé s’inspire des différents mouvements révolutionnaires qui naissent dans le monde et lance son premier album le 31 Juillet 2020 sur ZZK Records, le label pionnier de la musique électronique Latino-Américaine. Ce premier album éponyme intense, engagé et rebelle, dénonce les inégalités et les abus des gouvernements corrompus sur des rythmes frénétiques tout en entrainant les auditeurs pour qu’ils se joignent à la lutte. Danse et conscience s’unissent pour créer une communauté globale où la famille, les amis et les étrangers sont liés à travers un amour commun de la musique pour changer les choses ensemble.

Avec ses sonorités musicales africaines et de la côte caraïbe colombienne comme la Gaita, les voix mystiques, les grandes variétés de percussions et de rythmes traditionnels, mêlés à une élégante production électronique Tech/House, Ghetto Kumbé crée un paysage sonore afro-futuristique dynamique, engagé et inspirant. Son premier single « Vamo a Dale Duro » est une critique de la scission entre pauvres et riches, des politiciens de plus en plus corrompus et du système capitaliste tout puissant, le tout en appelant les peuples à s’unir à la lutte pour une existence plus digne. Le ton de l’album change d’une manière fluide entre chaque chanson qui contient des chants ancestraux, des voix profondes et résonnantes, des hymnes qui lèvent les foules et inspirent, avec des collaborations artistiques comme la chanteuse Mélanie de l’Ile de la Réunion, Kombilesa Mi, groupe de Folk/Hip Hop de Palenque en Colombie et des musiciens de toute la scène de Bogotá.

En Europe comme en Amérique, depuis leurs 2 premiers EP « Kumbé » et « Soy Selva », le groupe est dans l’oeil et les oreilles des plus grands programmateurs, entre autres ceux des festivals Roskilde, Glastonbury, Eurockéennes de Belfort, Paleo Festival ou encore le SXSW d’Austin, la Boiler Room et le Carnaval de Barranquilla. Leur identité sonore à la fois ancestrale et moderne leurs permet d’assumer leur statut légitime de représentant de la nouvelle scène AfroHouse qui ne cesse de grandir dans le monde.

----

«Entre house, rythmes caribéens et musique afro-colombienne traditionnelle, “Vamo a Dale Duro” est une explosion de rythmes.» PAN AFRICAN MUSIC

«le trio Ghetto Kumbé affole les dancefloors en revisitant le patrimoine sonore des tropiques, les percussions des Caraïbes ... Tout en y incorporant des éléments house plus actuels.» TSUGI

«Des rythmes afro, avec cette touche électronique qui fait de Sola un voyage de science-fiction.» ROLLING STONE ----

Nouvel album 31 juillet 2020 (Labo D / ZZK Records)

DISPONIBLE AUTOMNE 2020 - PRINTEMPS et ETE 2021

3 musiciens sur scène (4 sur la route)